Italian Episcopal Conference, National Office for the Liturgy, Use of low gluten hosts, 22 October 2001.


The following entry was first published in the Newsletter of the Italian Episcopal Conference (No. 9, 31 XII2001, pp. 278-280). Persons suffering from celiac disease have an intolerance for gluten, a protein found in wheat. Thus, such persons are not able to receive Holy Communion under the species of bread since the hosts are made of wheat containing gluten. The Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith responded to the concern raised by several Episcopal Conferences and issued guidelines in 1995 about the conditions essential for the validity of the "matter" used for consecration. The Italian Association for Persons Afflicted with Celiac Deficiency has researched the issue and discovered that it is possible to make bread of wheat containing a small amount of gluten. According to the National Liturgical Office of Italy, hosts made from this low gluten wheat would constitute valid matter for consecration and would not be harmful to persons suffering from this disease. Archbishop Tarcisio Bertone, Secretary of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, on August 17, 2001, stated in a letter to the Association that these low gluten hosts conformed to the Congregation's guidelines regarding valid matter for consecration. The citation, in Italian, is listed below with an unofficial English translation.




COMUNICATO DELL'UFFICIO LlTURGlCO NAZIONALE SULLA COMUNIONE EUCARISTICA DEI CELIACI IN ITALIA

In questi ultimi anni è notevolmente aumentato in Italia il numero di fedeli affetti da celiachia, patologia che determina un'intolleranza assoluta al glutine, sostanza proteica contenuta nelfrumento e in alcuni altri cereali. Il celiaco, perciò, deve in modopermanente e tassativo astenersi dall'assumere alimenti che contengono, anche in misura molto ridotta, del glutine. Per tale motivo il celiaco non può neppure accostarsi alia Comunione eucharistica, in quanto le ostie utilizzate comunemente nella celebrazione dell'Eucaristia sono prodotte confairina difrumento e di conseguenza contengono glutine.

Con lo scopo difar conoscere le disposizioni della Congregazione per la Dottrina della Fede. L'Ufficio liturgico nazionale ha redatto il seguente comunicato, già consegnato ai Direttori degli Ufficiliturgici diocesani al Convegno tenutasi a Termoli (CB) dal 22 al 25 ottobre 2001.

1. La Congregazione per la Dottrina della Fede, in risposta alle richieste fatte da alcuni Episcopati in merito all'aggiornamento delle disposizioni date il 29 ottobre 1982 riguardo alia comunione dei celiaci, il 19 giugno 1995 inviò una lettera circolare ai Presidenti delle Conferenze Episcopali,[1] puntualizzando le condizioni di validità della materia e precisando le modalità per accostarsi alia Comunione, che vengono riassunte di seguito.

a) Condizione di validità della materia

- le ostie speciali nelle quali il glutine è completamente assente ("quibus glutinum ablatum est") sono materia invalida per I'Eucaristia;

- sono invece materia valida le ostie nelle quali è presente la quantità di glutine sufficiente per ottenere la panificazione senza aggiunta di materie estranee e purché il procedimento usato per la loro confezione non sia tale da snaturare la sostanza del pane.

b) Modalità di accostarsi alia comunione

- l'Ordinario, accertata la presenza della patologia attraverso certificazione medica e verificato che il prodotto usato è conforme alle esigcnze di cui sopra, può concedere ai celiaci de ricevere la Comunione con ostie a contenuto minimo di glutine, tale in ogni caso da non nuocere alia salute.

La soluzione adottata veniva incontro in linea di principio alle esigenze dei celiaci; tuttavia I''imopssibilità di trovare ostie adatte ha comportato fino ad oggi che i celiaci continuassero a poter comunicare solo al calice.[2] Ciò non era privo di difficoltàper fli astemi e, soprattutto, per i bambini.

2. Contestualmente I 'Associazione Italiana Celiaci (AIC) si è attivata per ricercare una soluzione più agevole al problema. Si è così appreso che vengono prodotte ostie di frumento contenenti una quantità di glutine deciasamente bassa, attestata da indagine di laboratorio, che, pur permettendo la panificazione (e ciò le rende materia valida per la consacrazione), non rende le ostie nocive alia salute dei celiaci.

II risultato della ricera è stato comunicato alia Congregazione per la Dottrina della Fede, la quale con lettera del Segretario S.E. Mons. Tarcisio Bertone al Presidente dell 'AIC in data 17 agosto 2001 (Prot. 89/78-1354), ha fatto presente che questo tipo di ostie rispetta «decisioni a suo tempo assunte dal Dicastero circa l'uno del pane con poca quantità di glutine» e pertato ha giudicato «favorevolmente I'iniziativa intrapre sa ed i conseguenti risultati, conformi alle disposizioni in ordine alia materia valida per la Consacrazione ed ai necessari parametri che salvaguardino la salute del fedele celiaco». Inoltre S.E. Mons. Bertone ha assicurato la disponibilità della Congregazione a prendere in considerazione I 'abolizione della disposizione che impone la presentazione del certificato medico da parte dei fedeli celiaci per potersi avvalere della facoltà di ricevere la comunione nelle monalità a loro consentite.

3. È sembrato opportuno pertanto rendere noto gli aggiornamenti della disciplina, invitando a dame ampia diffusione, a sensibilizzare sacerdoti e fedeli al problems e a disporre I'acquisizione di tali ostie da parte dei parroci, seguendo le indicazioni riportate di seguito, in modo da rendere facilmente accessibile ai celiaci la comunione al pane eucaristico.

a) I parroci prendano le debite inoformazioni sulla celiachìa e sui disturbi che provoca; siano particolarmente diligenti nel riconoscere bambini celiaci tra quelli che si preparano alia messa di prima comunione, coinvolgendo opportunamente anche i catechisti.

b) Ove si presenti il problema, la parrocchia si procuri le ostie confezionate con amido di frumento contenente una quantità minima de glutine, e perciò idonee per la comunione dei celiaci. Tali ostie debbono essere conservate in un contenitore a parte, in modo da evitare qualsiasi forma di contatto con ostie normali o con altri prodotti confezionati con farine contenenti glutine (frumento, orao, segae, farro...). Può essere opportuno che nei santuari, nelle chiese interessate dai flussi turistici o in occasione di celebrazioni con partecipazione di un grande numero di fedeli, siano disponibili ostie adatte ai celiaci.

c) Nella celebrazione eucaristica si tengano presenti in particolare le seguenti precauzioni:

- per la preparazione delle ostie si raccomanda diprendere in mano le ostie speciali per celiaci prima di preparare le ostie normali; in caso contrario si abbia cura di lavarsi precedentemente le mani;

- per la consacrazione le ostie siano poste in una pisside, distinta dalle altre, chiusa, facilmente riconoscibile in modo tale da evitare ogni forma di contatto con le ostie comuni;

- per la distribuzionedella comunione il ministro (sacerdote, diacono, ministro straordinario), prima di dare la comunione ai celiaci, abbia cura di lavarsi le mansi se precedentemente ha preso le altre ostie;

- si conservi nel tabernacolo una pisside chiusa e facilmente distiguibile contenente ostie speciali consacrate e destinate alia comunionefuori della Messa per celiaci ammalati e anziani.

d) Quando i fedeli, in conformità alle disposizioni liturgiche, sono ammessi alia comunione sotto le due specie e nei casi in cui i celiaci accedono alia comunione al calice, il sacerdote celebrante o gli altri ministri osservino con diligenza le seguenti precauzioni:

- evitare difar comunicare il celiaco al calice nel quale è stata fatta la "immixtio" con un frammento del pane eucaristico comune;

- consacrare il vino per la comunione dei celiaci in un calice distinto, coperto, nel quale non si farè la immixtio.

e) In considerazione dei rilevanti risvolti teologici e pastorali del problems (validitè della consacrazione e precauzioni da osservare nei confronti dei celiaci), si raccomanda vivamente agli Uffici liturgici diocesani di vigilare sulla corretta applicazione delle presenti indicazioni e di promuovere in merito un'informazione corretta ai sacerdoti, ai diaconi e agli operatori pastorali.

Roma, 22 ottobre 2001

L'ufficio liturgico nazionale




Unofficial English translation

OFFICIAL NOTIFICATION FROM THE NATIONAL OFFICE OF LITURGY OF THE ITALIAN EPISCOPAL CONFERENCE

Holy Communion for Sufferers of "Celiac" Disease

There has been a notable increase in the number of people suffering "celiac" disease in Italy in the last few years. People afflicted with this disease have intolerance for "gluten," a protein substance found in wheat and in a few other cereals. People sick with this disease must abstain completely and always from all foods containing "gluten," even in reduced amounts. A person in such condition, therefore, cannot receive the Eucharist-Holy Communion, since the hosts, which are commonly used in the Eucharistic celebration, are produced with flour made from wheat and consequently they contain "gluten."

The following declaration had been drawn up by the National Liturgical Office and forwarded to the various Directors of the diocesan liturgical offices who were present at the Assembly held at Termoli (CB) from October 22 to 25, 2001. The purpose of this declaration is to make the dispositions of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith known to all.

1. The Sacred Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, in response to the request of some Episcopal Conferences about the updating of the guidelines issued on October 29,1982, regarding "Holy Communion given to people suffering from the celiac illness," sent a letter on June 19,1995 to the Presidents of the Episcopal Conferences about the conditions of the validity of the "matter" outlining ways for them to receive Communion. These latter points are summarized below:

a) Conditions concerning the validity of the "matter":

- Special hosts in which the "gluten" is completely absent ("quibus glutinum ablatum est") are invalid for the Eucharist.

- On the other hand, valid matter for the Eucharist are those hosts in which is present the quantity of "gluten" sufficient to make bread without adding other extraneous material and under condition that the procedure used in the process does not change the nature of the substance of bread.

b) The way for such persons to receive Communion. The Ordinary, after having ascertained the presence of the illness from a medical certificate and after verified that the product used is in conformity with what has been described above, may grant people afflicted with celiac disease to receive Communion with hosts which contain a minimal amount of "gluten," in a way that does not cause health problems to them.

The solution adopted answers the needs of those ill with this disease, however, the impossibility to easily find hosts of this kind even today, obliges those who are suffering from "celiac" disease to receive only from the chalice. This solution, however, presents other difficulties for those who abstain from alcohol and, above all, children.

2. The Italian Association Celiaci (AIC) (people afflicted with the celiac deficiency) has tried to find a more acceptable and workable solution to the problem. They have discovered that it is possible to have hosts made of wheat and containing a very small quantity of "gluten," and this confirmed by laboratory tests. These hosts can be made into bread (hence they are valid matter for consecration), and so not being harmful to the health of people so afflicted.

The result of the research were passed to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, which by a letter written by the Secretary of the Congregation, Archbishop Tarcisio Bertone, and addressed to the President of the AIC, August 17, 2001 (Prot. 89/78-1354) affirmed that this type of hosts responds to "the decisions opportunely taken by that Roman Congregation about the use of the hosts having a low degree gluten." Therefore, Bishop Bertone expressed a favorable judgment regarding the initiative undertaken and the consequent results stating that these "new" hosts are conformed to the guidelines regarding the valid "matter" for consecration and within the necessary limits which respect the health needs of persons afflicted with this deficiency. He also clearly acknowledged that the Congregation was ready to abolish the condition that requires a medical certificate on the part of the faithful with the syndrome for them to be able to receive Communion in the way that is favorable to their health.

3. It appeared opportune therefore to make this updated consideration regarding this discipline well known by making these facts better and widely understood to enable priests and faithful to be more aware of the problem and to ask pastors to make hosts of this kind available and provide that the above recommendations are followed, so as to render easily accessible to people with the celiac disease to partake of the Eucharist bread.

a) Pastors should request due information regarding the disease and be informed as to the difficulties, which people sick with this celiac disease may experience therefrom. They must have a particular care and diligence to know and provide for those children, who are so afflicted, and who are preparing for their First Communion. In this they should opportunely interest the catechists also.

b) Wherever there is a problem of this nature, the parish must provide hosts made from the "amino-starch" of wheat containing a minimal amount of "gluten," hosts that can be used for the Communion of people afflicted with this deficiency. Such hosts must be kept in a separate container, so as to avoid whichever contact with normal hosts or with other products containing gluten (wheat, barley, rye, or other cereals). It might be well to have these special hosts available in Shrines and Churches visited by many tourists or in celebrations with participation of a great number of faithful.

c) In the Eucharistic Celebration the following should be kept in mind:

- For celebrations, it is recommended to prepare the special host first and the normal ones later, otherwise one should wash her/his hands before touching the special hosts;

- For the Consecration, place the special hosts in a pyx different from the others, closed and recognizable to avoid all contact of these hosts with the common hosts;

- For the distribution of the Communion the Minister (Priest, Deacon or Eucharistic Minister) before giving Communion to those with special need of this minimal gluten hosts, should wash his/her hands if he/she had previously touched other hosts;

- For Communion outside Mass given to the elderly and the sick suffering from this ailment, it is opportune to keep these special consecrated hosts in the tabernacle, in a closed ciborium and easily recognized.

d) When the faithful, in conformity with the liturgical dispositions, are admitted to receive Communion under both species, and in the cases where people afflicted with the disease receive Communion from the chalice, the Celebrant and other Ministers ought to diligently observe the following precautions:

- Avoid having people with this ailment receive Communion from a chalice in which has been made the "immixio" with a fragment of common Eucharistic bread.

- Consecrate the wine for the Communion for those with special needs in a separate chalice, covered and in which the "immixio" will not be made.

e) In consideration of the theological and pastoral aspects of this problem (validity of the Consecration, precautions to be observed with people so afflicted) it is strongly recommended that Diocesan Liturgical Offices be watchful regarding the proper application of these present indications and to promote in this regard a correct instruction to Priests, Deacons and pastoral agents.

Rome, October 22, 2001




Italian Episcopal Conference (CEI), National Office for the Liturgy, Use of low gluten hosts, 22 October 2001, CLSA, Roman Replies and Advisory Opinions, 2002, 15-22.